I survived tout seul!

WOW, who knew spending so much time alone could be this amazing?!

Wahey!
Wahey!

I am thoroughly appreciative for this window of opportunity to spend over a week alone farm sitting. I’ve been allowed the time and space to simply be, to harvest and cook good organic grub and dedicate my energy to tuning into my mind, body and soul.

The sense of freedom having an entire farm to oneself is just incredible. I could sing at the top of my voice, dance through the fields semi-naked as I gathered strawberries and sit and stare at the sky for hours on end without a care in the world.

So what else have I been getting up to? Well besides chatting to the cats, spiders, bees and just about anyone else who’ll listen, I’ve been doing some delving within, figuring some things out and enjoying my own company. Turns out me and myself can have a good laugh together. And I really realised that if I can be good friends with myself then, well, I can do just about anything!

I’ve discovered I’m truly grateful for coeliac because, as Edward Bach put it “Disease is the result in the physical body of the resistance of the personality to the guidance of the soul. It is when we turn a deaf ear to the ‘still small voice’ and forget the Divinity within us…Health depends on being in harmony with our souls.

I didn’t used to be good friends with myself. I didn’t used to look after myself properly and I didn’t used to see the beauty of my own being. Receiving the diagnosis of coeliac disease was the wake-up call I needed to truly learn to take responsibility for myself. Every single day I am reminded of the need to look after myself, the need to be assertive and the importance of making choices which value my body. I now seek out that which nourishes my soul which naturally leads to a healthier body and mind. This has already led me to some pretty amazing places and I can’t wait to see where else it takes me.

When I first decided to farm sit alone, I was cautious. I worried that I’d send myself into a negative downward spiral, that I’d have too much time to think, that I’d get scared at night and lonely. But in reality, I sent myself in an upward positive spiral, spent time with my imagination and creativity rather than getting too stuck in my thoughts and wasn’t especially lonely! The first night I was terrified of the dark and had a bit of a panic but I just remembered to breathe and ground myself on day 2 and soon got used to being alone in the dark at night. Had some of the best night’s sleep in the end, helped by daily meditation, yoga and dance.

We so often do anything to avoid our own company, but this week I have learnt to really value it. I heard once that there is no boredom, just being boring…so it’s up to us to make what we will of the time and space before us.

Note to future self: Remember the importance of alone time!

The week in pictures:

This butterfly came and sat on my core for an entire yoga session, crawling round ot my back when I did cobra faced down to the floor!
This butterfly came and sat on my core for an entire yoga session, crawling round ot my back when I did cobra faced down to the floor!
Took a raincheck on the relaxing bath I had planned...
Took a raincheck on the relaxing bath I had planned…
Beautiful sunsets over the corn fields every evening
Beautiful sunsets over the corn fields every evening
dancing about the place in a fancy dress...coz I can
dancing about the place in a fancy dress…coz I can

IMG_0288

One thought on “I survived tout seul!

Leave a Reply

