Changing the Story

“All illness starts in the electromagnetic field surrounding us– and that field is comprised of our thoughts, beliefs, and emotions– and those of our families and communities. Until you understand and work on this level, all healthcare is merely symptom relief!”  DR. CHRISTIANE NORTHRUP, Women’s Health Expert, Visionary Health Pioneer, Wellness Speaker, and New York Times Best-Selling Author. (I strongly recommend her book ‘Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom’ for female readers)

“You have the power to heal your life, and you need to know that. We think so often that we are helpless, but we’re not. We always have the power of our minds…Claim and consciously use your power.”  LOUISE L HAY, author of ‘You Can Heal Your Life’

***

Morning movement, the sun makes its way up into the sky and we stand beneath with our feet planted on the earth. Dina asks us to move from our sacrum, with feet firmly connected to the floor and jaw loose, sternum high. We sway like this, bringing awareness to our bodies, arriving into this collection of bones and flesh to say hello to a new day.

Dina tells us how we can prevent the physical body from healing by being attached to thoughts in our mind that hold the belief we cannot heal, that tell us we are doomed to live with pain or illness. I notice a reaction to her words. I feel annoyed at this suggestion, it makes sense to me on one level and presses my buttons on another.

“But I’ve been living with neck pain and digestive problems for at least 6 years” I tell her “I’ve tried everything and although I feel positive about what I’m doing, nothing seems to actually fix it once and for all. How am I supposed to believe it can be truly healed? I can’t.”

She asks me to repeat this sentence, I do. It sticks in my throat, which I can feel closing up as my eyes begin to water.

“How does it feel in your body when you say these words?” She asks me,

“My body feels stressed, tense, rigid and like there’s something sticking to my insides.” I reply.

So, she gets me to breathe out as I bend my knees and sink into the floor then breathe in right down into my belly as I rise up again to having relaxed straight legs. I do this for some time, really focusing on the breath. After a while she asks me how my body feels now,

“Relaxed, free, much more comfortable.” I reply.

“Are you still in pain?” She asks,

“No”

“See, when you are thinking about a belief that you can’t heal, which is just a story you tell yourself, the body gets stressed. When you let go of this belief, the body can relax and be free from pain or be in less pain. Remember this.” She smiles at me reassuringly and I wipe my eyes.

I’m working on letting go of this belief, it’s not going to happen overnight but I’m really starting to feel empowered. I am not defined by any pain or ill health in the physical body and I can change the story.

Bach Flower Remedy for feelings of hopelessness about healing from illness: Gorse. Take drops under the tongue as directed on the bottle and can aslo put 2 drops into olive oil in the palm of the hand to massage into areas of pain. Do this after washing.

IMG_0218

Leave a Reply

